PUG-ing 25-Naxx

25-Naxx is a joke really. Blizz should beef it up a whole lot more than the current state it’s in. There is almost no way to wipe in 25man naxx except on those fights in which a single retard can destroy the raid; aka Grobbulus. By the way, we had a couple of those brainless people wipe us 3 times yesterday. Sigh, but for a pug I guess we did good with Plague and Spider wings behind us and a very dead Patchwerk.

I was over at MaxDPS last night and they had the new Holy Priest gear listings up. Well apparently I should reach a cool 2.6k HPS with my current gear. Some mulling over the stats for 25-naxx yesterday.. and I am uber satisfied with a 2.5k HPS and 18% overheals. Personally, I would have loved to see bigger numbers for overheals cause of Patchwerk really. It’s just weird that people tend to look at overheals in a very negative sort of way. True that it essentially means wasting mana, or a healer too lazy to /stopcasting.. You do need a certain amount of overheals to indicate to me you’re what is known as a PROACTIVE healer. In some cases, I would even say, if you’re a never-out-of-mana healer (the Paladin who is OP), or a super regen machine (the priest with 1k spirit and up), the one with cool toys to never say oomph (the shaman with lots of totems, druid with innervate).. Go ahead and overheal like crazy! Why bother when you never go oomph anyway. I myself ended Maexxna with 50% mana left yesterday. Not an issue at all.

One thing really ticked me off yesterday though. The druid healer who robbed me of The Impossible Dream that dropped off Loatheb. Sigh, blame it on my luck for a series of rolls so low.. I wanted to scream lol. Damn said druid healer came into 25-naxx half blues, ungemmed, un-enchanted and omg, was he wearing Sandals of Crimson Fury?!! Bloody leeches.. One of the best maces in game to someone 6th in 7 healers. IMO, I won’t even dare roll on anything if I were doing anything less than 10% heals. BTW, 7th was this crap Pally healer. To illustrate just how crap.. My recount says my Pally Main Tank was off-healing half of what he did. Hahaz, tell me this is not true!! tell me my recount is mistaken lol.

Pugs.. As always, you just got to laugh at the end of it and be glad you survived without a hefty repair bill. That’s how it goes aye?

~ by sparklefreeze on February 23, 2009.

One Response to “PUG-ing 25-Naxx”

  1. “It’s just weird that people tend to look at overheals in a very negative sort of way. True that it essentially means wasting mana, or a healer too lazy to /stopcasting.. You do need a certain amount of overheals to indicate to me you’re what is known as a PROACTIVE healer.”

    In certain situations (Patchwerk comes to mind, as you mentioned) you can’t help but overheal. But honestly, why use a sledgehammer when you can use a regular hammer? Just because you have have, what seems, and endless mana pool does not mean you should spam the heals. Now, this doesn’t mean that you should be so frugal with the heals as to let someone die. Still, healing is situational. I think that choosing the right heal at the right time is one of the most challenging aspects to healing. So, when (not IF!) Blizzard nerfs a particular spell that now does less healing (can you say Chain Heal!?) you can brush it off and say, “Shooooot….no worries! I’ve got my healing technique DOWN. Bring it!”

Leave a Reply

 
