A look @ 3.2 & PoH changes.

Nerfs everywhere for the priest community. It seems Blizz just can’t decide if Penance should have a longer CD or not. After the jitters of the 3.1 Penance Glyph revamp, now it seems to be happening all over again. MP5 revamps inc in 3.2.. Some kind of consolation. But I’m hating the PoH change the most. What with the Tier 8 bonus for PoH, this is the one that’s gonna hurt the most.

Priests

  • Prayer of Healing: The percentage of spell power this spell gains in healing (per target) has been reduced from 80.7% to 52.6%.
  • Talents
    • Discipline
      • Penance: Cooldown increased to 12 seconds, up from 10 seconds.
    • Holy
      • Inspiration: The buff from this ability now reduces the physical damage taken by the target by 3/7/10% instead of increasing the target’s armor.
  • Mana Regeneration: All items that provide “X mana per five seconds” have had the amount of mana they regenerate increased by approximately 25%.

A quick look says we’ve kinda scraped through the new patch unharmed especially compared to the DKs who are whining on the forums again. I’m unsure what Blizz is trying to achieve with the tweaks to MP5 again. But what the PoH nerf is.. is their way of making Ulduar harder after they over-nerfed the bosses. I’m sore……….. What is this, a 25% cut in SP contribution!! For a 10-man raider, this really sucks.

Ok, after reading this post, I realised the SP contribution cut is about 17% rather than the 25% I’ve very roughly gauged on first read. Still, I’m finding this to be hard on a 10-man raid healer. I am not a big fan of spamming PoH as some of the priests I know like to so I’m not pleased that I’ll be having to cast it more than I’d like 3.2 onwards. This is going to be a strain on mana indirectly since (repeat; not being a PoH fan) I do not have those 2 points in Healing Prayers. Haste however I’m not worried about since I do not fully utilise Serendipity X3 as I ought to. So, that’s just a matter of  getting the 3 FH 1 PoH rotation pounded into instinct again. This change does however make crit more valuable than ever on a PoH procc. 2 piece Tier 8 helps 10% with that.. So, I guess you just cross your fingers and hope it crits on the dying guy aye.

~ by sparklefreeze on June 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
